First Beach Day

On Tuesday, we spent the morning reading over the thrilling rules and regulations of the Israel Teaching Fellows program with our City Coordinator, Shiran. It was truly thrilling.

 

No, I don’t have a picture of it.

 

It didn’t take too long though, so in the early afternoon a big group of us went off to the beach, for the first of many times.

 

The walk along the beach has excellent walking and biking paths, and some exercise equipment that I miiiiight like to try?

The walk along the beach has excellent walking and biking paths, and some exercise equipment that I miiiiight like to try?

 

The beach is beyond what I could have hoped for. The sand is soft and bug-free, the water is unbelievably warm, and there is a constant breeze blowing over the shore. I’m used to trying to go to the beach in the summer, which in the US means it is packed by noon-time, but this beach was relatively open and spacious. The lifeguards shout things in Hebrew that we can’t understand, but I don’t think they were yelling at us, so I think it’s okay.

 

Walking onto the beach

Walking onto the beach

 

After a summer of no beach, I was pretty pleased.

 

Why yes I did do two thumbs up because I'm a dork

Why yes I did do two thumbs up because I’m a dork

 

Later that night, we took a taxi to a local bar, called “Ha Ze” (or “the this”). There was a live band playing, and when they realized our table was full of Americans, they switched to playing American songs. My personal favorite was “Killing in the Name of.”

 

Alex gets invited up to join the band!

Alex (girl in the white, another fellow) gets invited up to join the band!

Leave a Reply

