First Shabbat and a Night in Tel-Aviv

First of all, on Thursday I made a very exciting purchase.

So pristine...

So pristine…

So on Friday, after walking five miles to the mall for various errands with my ‘mates, I made my favorite frozen banana and chocolate protein powder blend. I think frozen banana will definitely be a thing for all of us now.

Bananas are also much smaller in Israel!

Real bananas taste pretty baller

Real bananas taste pretty baller

Saturday evening, we had our first Shabbat dinner together, potluck style. Shiran (our city coordinator) and her husband came as well. Everything was delicious, and I was happy to hear that my favorite spicy lentils dish, whcih I made with Stephanie and Paul, were very well-liked.

Later in the evening, eight of us split taxis into Tel-Aviv (since there was no bus or train service) and we went to the Flame Bar to meet up with Katie’s Israeli boyfriend and his friends. Everyone had a great time there, although Stephanie, our two Emilys, and I also had an incredible time visiting the bar down the street.

The four of us danced at the oval bar in the center of the jam-packed space, while the blasting music had the bartenders banging on cymbals, jumping onto the bar tops, and swinging from the bar’s trapeze-like structures. When the bartenders put on Guy Fawkes masks, one bartender handed me a matching mask and lifted me up to dance on top of the bar tops and then behind the bar with them.

Soooo this happened.

Soooo yeah. this happened.

It was pretty surreal. In the best way possible.

Stephanie and Emily wave their sparklers, lit from a flaming bar surface

Stephanie and Emily wave their sparklers, lit from a flaming bar surface

Another great thing about bars in Israel? They don’t close at 2am.

We were all happily exhausted on our taxi drives home at 4:30am. Back at the apartment, glorious girl talk still happened of course, with the nourishing powers of pita and hummus.

Having been able to organize this super fun outing with the others, I feel a lot more confident about going out in the future and try new things in Israel, not just confined within the city of Ashdod. However, I think it will be a while before I go for a big night out like that again, as I wouldn’t want to spend the cab fare too often. I’m still excited to see what other nightlife Ashdod has to offer, but at least I know that Tel-Aviv is definitely worth the special trip.

2 thoughts on “First Shabbat and a Night in Tel-Aviv

  1. Rachel says:

    Yup the cabs will be more expensive during Shabbat. Always a good idea to share a taxi. There are also shared taxis called “sheirut” that are specifically for sharing with other people(they looks like vans). I only took one a few times because I could never figure out where to pick one up, or where to get off. The times I did take one, I had a trusty Israeli friend with me 🙂 The buses are good, and the train is fun, too. At the train station you can purchase a round trip ticket 🙂 And the shops are fun to check out at the bus station in Tel Aviv. One place had smoothies. I took a bus from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem a lot, and it was cheap. I wish traveling around the U.S. was as easy and affordable!

    • Rachel says:

      p.s. when you’re on a bus in the city(like not a bus from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem) but like taking the bus around Tel Aviv, when you want to get off you can yell “nag!” and the driver will stop, since that means “driver”. If you yelled “driver” here in the Burgh, the driver might kick you off!

Leave a Reply

