Winter is coming…

But certainly not in the same way as the Starks fear. We don’t exactly live in the same climate, you see…

My apartment building - I actually took this the first day I was here!

My apartment building – I actually took this the first day I was here!

Ashdodians have told me time and time again that even though it’s technically fall, winter is going to hit very soon, when it will be 21-23 C during the day, and maybe 15-17 C at night. They have to keep telling me this, because I just can’t accept that as winter weather.

Balcony view, on a sunny, summery day

Balcony view, on a sunny, summery day

I’m used to Pittsburgh winter, which means gray. So gray that you’re moping around like Eeyore all the time. Gray until you’re ready to sell your first-born, just a moment of warm, sweet sunshine.

In short, gray forever.

And five sweaters, and two pairs of pants, and you’re still losing feeling in your toes as you bike home through slush.

And snow.

Freshman year of college, first year in Pittsburgh - look at how much I'm enjoying the cold! And wow...look at how long my hair was...

Freshman year of college, first year in Pittsburgh – look at how much I’m enjoying the cold! And wow…look at how long my hair was…

Winter in Ashdod, however, is the time for rain, in a way that reminds me of Pittsburgh summer. Though my first month in Israel, it didn’t rain once. When it finally did, it was hard to predict. It comes down fast and hard and scattered, sometimes with the sun still shining.

Our view from the apartment this afternoon was amazing, as a short but intense shower came down over the city. As the rain was lifting, the sun began to shine down on the water, and created this “God is speaking to me” scene, in an eerie mix of light and fog.

afterrain3The light was shifting gorgeously. These photos really don’t do it justice, but I’d still recommend opening the photos in a new window (click on ’em).

afterrain2

If this is Ashdod winter, I think I’ll survive.

Leave a Reply

